Although through continuous good service the Force has secured for itself a place of confidence in the minds of the Canadian public, its present performance is being used as a measure for raising standards in the future. By developing in its members an everincreasing sense of loyalty and pride, the Force is endeavouring to improve the quality of service which is now synonymous with the name "Royal Canadian Mounted Police".

Subsection 2.-Provincial Police Forces*

Quebec Provincial Police Force.—This Force is responsible for upholding law and order over the whole territory of the Province from the provincial boundary between Ontario and Quebec to the Magdalen Islands in the Gulf of St. Lawrence. The Force is composed of about 1,000 men in charge of a Director, who is responsible to the Attorney-General of the Province.

To facilitate operations the territory is divided into two almost equal parts designated as the District of Montreal and the District of Quebec. The Director has his office in Montreal and an Assistant Director is situated in the city of Quebec. Working under these Directors are two Deputies and an Inspector General. In each District the Police Force is divided into three sections: the detective corps, the constabulary and the traffic officers. Each section is in charge of a captain supported by a number of lieutenants and sergeants.

A province-wide frequency modulation radio-communication system has been established at Montreal. A main station operating on the top of Mount Royal directs radio equipped cars within a radius of between 60 and 80 miles around Montreal; similar stations operating from the cities of Quebec and Three Rivers direct the mobile units operating in their respective areas. Substations operate at each of the eight bridges giving access to or exit from the eity of Montreal and a number of cars, all equipped with three-way radio units, patrol the surrounding country day and night.

Ontario Provincial Police.—The Ontario Provincial Police Force is maintained by the Ontario Government and administered by the Attorney-General's Department. It is responsible for law enforcement in the rural and unorganized parts of the Province and in certain municipalities by contract. The development of the Force from its beginning in the early years of Confederation to the passing of the Police Act in 1946, is outlined in the 1950 Year Book, pp. 332-333.

The Force, with a strength of approximately 1,550 in 1956, consists of a General Headquarters at Toronto and District Headquarters at Chatham, London, Dundas, Niagara Falls, Newmarket, Mount Forest, Barrie, Peterborough, Belleville, Perth, Cornwall, North Bay, Sudbury, Sault Ste. Marie, Timmins, Port Arthur and Kenora. Each District has Detachments adequate to meet local law enforcement requirements. A Criminal Investigations Branch, under the command of a Chief Inspector, is maintained at Toronto to handle crimes of a major nature.

The Force operates one of the largest frequency modulation radio networks in the world, which is a most efficient method of combating every type of lawlessness. The network includes sixty fixed stations—forty-four 60-watt stations and sixteen 250-watt stations, one of which is dual-controlled—and 515 radio-equipped mobile units including five boats operating on Lake Temagami, Lake Simcoe, Lake Nipissing, Lake of the Woods, and Georgian Bay.

As of May 1957, the Ontario Police Force was policing 69 municipalities which requested this service under the provisions of the Police Act.

Subsection 3.-Municipal Police Statistics

Police statistics were submitted to the DBS for 1955 by Chiefs of Police in 239 urban centres, 16 district communities, 15 townships and one unorganized district, all of 4,000 population or over. The ratio of police per 1,000 population in urban centres of 4,000 population or over for each province was as follows:—

* Revised by Geo. A. Shea, O.B.E., Secretary-Treasurer, Canadian Association of Chiefs of Police, Montreal, Que.